Management Board

On 10 November 2022, new elections were held on a regular basis. Five honorary board members and one full-time employee are entrusted with the association's tasks.

Hoffnungsbaum Logo

The incumbent Board of Directors

Markus Nielbock, 1st Chairman, Member of the Board since 2018, father of a daughter with BPAN
Noah Rusch, 2nd Chairman, Member of the Board since 2018, father of a son with BPAN
Sigune Lüchtefeld, treasurer, board member since 2021, mother of a daughter with BPAN
Tiemo Durm, assessor, board member since 2020, father of a daughter with PKAN
Ufuk Calisici, assessor, board member since 2021, friend of an affected family

Still active as advisory experts (non-voting) at board meetings:
Angelika Klucken, 1st Chairwoman from 2002 to 2021, mother of a son with PKAN

Our Employee

Beate Sonnenschein has been supporting the work of Hoffnungsbaum as a permanent part-time employee.

Changes in recent years

Board Elections 2018:
As part of our 8th NBIA Family Conference in September 2018 in Düsseldorf, the annual general meeting of Hoffnungsbaum e.V. Instead of. A new board of directors was elected as scheduled. We bid farewell to our board members Maayke Arends, Ursula Hofmann and Michaela Schürer, who did not stand for re-election, and would like to thank them warmly for their many years of cooperation and support. Newly elected to the Board of Directors in 2018 were Anja Barthe, Markus Nielbock and Noah Rusch. Michel Baumann, Angelika and Stephan Klucken and Karola Peka were re-elected.

Changes in 2020:
Two long-standing board members, Michel Baumann (since 2010) and Karola Peka (since 2006), have taken over the board of directors of Hoffnungsbaum e.V. this year in order to initiate the long-planned generational change in the Executive Board through her resignation. At the General Assembly, which took place on 25 October 2020 as a hybrid meeting in Düsseldorf on site and also virtually, Sebastian Matthiesen and Tiemo Durm were subsequently elected to the board.  This means that two members of the association, who have been very committed for a long time, are moving up to the board, and for the first time, Sebastian Matthiesen is also representing the NBIA variant MPAN in the club's management.  We would like to express our sincere thanks for the many years of active support of the retiring board members and look forward to working with the new board members.

Changes in 2021:
The two founding members Angelika Klucken and Stephan Klucken have resigned from their board positions (1st chairman or treasurer) as planned. At the General Assembly on 21.11.2021, these offices were newly filled. Markus Nielbock was elected 1st chairman, Sebastian Matthiesen 2nd chairman and Sigune Lüchtefeld treasurer. In addition, Ufuk Calisici was newly elected to the board as an assessor. Anja Barthe, Noah Rusch and Tiemo Durm will continue to be active on the Board of Directors as assessors. Karola Peka was elected as the new auditor.

New elections 2022:
Anja Barthe and Sebastian Matthiesen did not stand for re-election. We would like to thank you very much for your many years of support! Unfortunately, we were unable to find any replacement candidates for the two. At the new election, the five remaining members of the Board of Directors were confirmed in their offices, with Noah Rusch was elected as 2nd chairman. New auditors were appointed Stephan Klucken and Klaus Luechtefeld.

Changes in 2023:
Christian Berg was elected as auditor and Stephan Klucken, whom we would like to thank very much for his great commitment.

Subscribe to our Hoffnungsbaum newsletter!

With our newsletter e-mails you will receive valuable information about NBIA. If you would like to receive additional information on individual NBIA variants or special information for researchers/clinicians in addition to the general newsletter, please click here: Subscribe to additional information

Privacy policy

You have successfully registered!