q Research funding | Hoffnungsbaum e.V.

Research funding

Here we give you an overview of the development and principles of our research funding.

Since 2004 Hoffnungsbaum e.V. has financed or co-financed grants to promote NBIA research projects, research infrastructure and medical care totaling several € 100,000 (see also Funded projects). Some of these funds were awarded in close cooperation with our sister associations, particularly in Italy and the USA, or as part of the NBIA alliance. The proposals for individual projects submitted to Hoffnungsbaum are reviewed by scientists (peer review) to ensure that qualified projects are funded (see also Funding conditions).

Inspired by the NBIA Disorders Association, HoBa organized eight family conferences in Germany, which were always attended by clinicians and scientists from Germany and other European countries in addition to the NBIA families. Some of the family conferences served as an opportunity to realize research-related activities on the occasion of these meetings, for example blood collections for the biobank of the NBIA Disorders Association in the USA in 2006.

One of the main aspects of Hoffnungsbaum's research funding has always been the intensive networking of relevant NBIA stakeholders and thus the establishment of contacts between previously non-cooperating NBIA research groups. In 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2014, we supported the participation of European clinicians in NBIA symposia and family conferences in the USA and Europe with a total of around € 2000.

In addition, we have initiated research projects, volunteered to advise researchers from both academia and biotech companies from a patient representative perspective, based on a growing lay experience in the field of NBIA research.

We regularly inform NBIA researchers about funding opportunities that have come to our attention. We provide non-material support, for example in the form of letters of support, for applications from NBIA scientists or consortia for funding, for example as part of the programs for rare diseases at European level such as EJP-RD. We also contribute to the dissemination of information about ongoing clinical trials, whether to affected families or doctors.

From 2011-2015, Hoffnungsbaum, like the NBIA Disorders Association, was a full partner in the EU-funded FP7 project TIRCON (Treat Iron-Related Childhood-Onset Neurodegeneration) (1). As head of the "Dissemination" work package, HoBa was a member of the TIRCON Scientific Steering Committee. TIRCON continues to exist as an unfunded, loose and extended network of NBIA researchers and physicians, as does the steering committee that makes decisions on the NBIA patient registry and biobank. As patient organizations, the NBIA Disorders Association and Hoffnungsbaum are represented on this steering committee.

At Publications you will find articles on other research projects that Hoffnungsbaum has supported financially, ideally or organizationally.

(1) In November 2011, the European Union funded an NBIA research consortium for 4 years to the tune of 5.2 million euros. Treat Iron-Related Childhood-Onset Neurodegeneration (TIRCON) consisted of 13 partners from eight countries. The scientific objectives of the TIRCON project were: the establishment of an international NBIA patient registry; the establishment of a biobank; the development of biomarkers for the disease PKAN, the implementation of a randomized clinical trial with the iron chelating agent deferiprone in PKAN; the development of pantethine derivatives for the treatment of PKAN

Calls for tenders and research funding

Here you can see the calls for proposals that Hoffnungsbaum e.V. has supported, to whom funding has recently been awarded and in which research projects Hoffnungsbaum is involved. You can find a tabular overview of all funded projects at Funded projects.

Two MPAN project grants totaling $140,000 awarded

Two MPAN project grants totaling $140,000 awarded

Hoffnungsbaum e.V. in conjunction with three sister organizations in Europe and the US, has awarded two MPAN grants to advance research priorities in the field of mitochondrial membrane protein-associated neurodegeneration (MPAN)...

read more
Call for proposals on MPAN research open by May 2, 2022

Call for proposals on MPAN research open by May 2, 2022

Associazione Italiana Sindromi Neurodegenerative da Accumulo di Ferro (AISNAF, Italy), Hoffnungsbaum e.V. (HoBa, Germany), NBIA Disorders Association (NBIADA, USA), and Stichting Ijzersterk (The Netherlands) are soliciting the submission of research projects by...

read more

Subscribe to our Hoffnungsbaum newsletter!

With our newsletter e-mails you will receive valuable information about NBIA. If you would like to receive additional information on individual NBIA variants or special information for researchers/clinicians in addition to the general newsletter, please click here: Subscribe to additional information

Privacy policy

You have successfully registered!

Forschungsförderung

Hier geben wir Ihnen einen Überblick über die Entwicklung und Prinzipien unserer Forschungsförderung.

Seit 2004 hat Hoffnungsbaum e.V. Zuschüsse zur Förderung von NBIA-Forschungsprojekten, Forschungsinfrastruktur, medizinischer Versorgung in Höhe von insgesamt mehreren € 100.000 finanziert oder mitfinanziert (siehe auch Projektförderungen). Ein Teil dieser Mittel wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Schwesterverbänden, insbesondere in Italien und den USA, oder im Rahmen der NBIA-Allianz vergeben. Die bei Hoffnungsbaum eingereichten Vorschläge für Einzelprojekte werden von Wissenschaftlern begutachtet (Peer Review), um die Finanzierung qualifizierter Projekte sicherzustellen (siehe auch Förderbedingungen).

Inspiriert durch die NBIA Disorders Association, organisierte HoBa acht Familienkonferenzen in Deutschland, an denen neben den NBIA-Familien immer auch Kliniker und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland und anderen europäischen Ländern teilnahmen. Einige der Familienkonferenzen dienten als Gelegenheit, anlässlich dieser Treffen forschungsbezogene Aktivitäten zu realisieren, beispielsweise u.a. Blutabnahmen für die Biobank der NBIA Disorders Association in den USA im Jahr 2006.

Ein Hauptaspekt von Hoffnungsbaums Forschungsförderung ist seit jeher die intensive Vernetzung relevanter NBIA-Akteure und damit die Kontaktvermittlung zwischen bisher nicht kooperierenden NBIA-Forschungsgruppen. In den Jahren 2005, 2007, 2009 und 2014 unterstützten wir die Teilnahme von europäischen Klinikern an NBIA-Symposien und Familienkonferenzen in den USA und Europa mit insgesamt ca. € 2000.

Darüber hinaus haben wir Forschungsprojekte initiiert, Forscher sowohl aus dem akademischen Bereich als auch von Biotech-Unternehmen ehrenamtlich aus der Sicht von Patientenvertretern beraten, basierend auf einer wachsenden Laien-Erfahrung im Feld der NBIA-Forschung.

Regelmäßig informieren wir NBIA-Forscher über Fördermöglichkeiten, auf die wir aufmerksam geworden sind. Wir leisten ideelle Unterstützung, etwa in Form von Unterstützungsbriefen, bei Anträgen von NBIA-Wissenschaftlern bzw. Konsortien auf Fördermittel, zum Beispiel im Rahmen der Programme für Seltene Erkrankungen auf europäischer Ebene wie EJP-RD. Auch tragen wir zur Weiterverbreitung von Informationen über laufende klinische Studien bei, sei es an betroffene Familien oder an Ärzte.

2011-2015 war Hoffnungsbaum, wie auch die NBIA Disorders Association, vollwertiger Partner des EU-finanzierten FP7-Projekts TIRCON (Treat Iron-Related Childhood-Onset Neurodegeneration) (1). Als Leitung des Arbeitspakets „Dissemination“ war HoBa Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Lenkungsausschusses von TIRCON. TIRCON besteht als nicht finanziertes, lockeres und erweitertes Netzwerk von NBIA-Forschern und -Ärzten weiter, ebenso der Lenkungsausschuss, der Entscheidungen zum NBIA-Patientenregister und zur Biobank trifft. Als Patientenorganisationen sind die NBIA Disorders Association und Hoffnungsbaum in diesem Lenkungsausschuss vertreten.

Unter Publikationen finden Sie Artikel zu weiteren Forschungs-Projekten, die Hoffnungsbaum finanziell, ideell oder organisatorisch unterstützt hat.

(1) Im November 2011 finanzierte die Europäische Union für 4 Jahre in Höhe von 5,2 Millionen Euro ein NBIA-Forschungskonsortium. Treat Iron-Related Childhood-Onset Neurodegeneration (TIRCON) bestand aus 13 Partnern aus acht Ländern. Die wissenschaftlichen Ziele des TIRCON-Projekts waren: die Einrichtung eines internationalen NBIA-Patientenregisters; die Einrichtung einer Biobank; die Entwicklung von Biomarkern für die Krankheit PKAN, die Durchführung einer randomisierten klinischen Studie mit dem Eisenchelatbildner Deferiprone bei PKAN; die Entwicklung von Pantethinderivaten zur Behandlung von PKAN

Aktuelle Ausschreibungen und Forschungsförderungen

Hier sehen Sie Ausschreibungen, die Hoffnungsbaum e.V. unterstützt hat, an wen in letzter Zeit Fördergelder vergeben wurden und in welche Forschungsprojekte Hoffnungsbaum involviert ist. Eine tabellarische Übersicht über alle geförderten Projekte finden Sie unter Projektförderungen.

Call for proposals on MPAN research open by May 2, 2022

Call for proposals on MPAN research open by May 2, 2022

Associazione Italiana Sindromi Neurodegenerative da Accumulo di Ferro (AISNAF, Italy), Hoffnungsbaum e.V. (HoBa, Germany), NBIA Disorders Association (NBIADA, USA), and Stichting Ijzersterk (The Netherlands) are soliciting the submission of research projects by...

mehr lesen
PKAN-Medikamentenscreening an der Yale-Universität

PKAN-Medikamentenscreening an der Yale-Universität

Seit Juli 2021 läuft unter der Leitung von Professor Choukri Ben Mamoun ein neues einjähriges PKAN-Forschungsprojekt an der Yale-Universität, New Haven (USA). Das Projekt mit dem Titel: „Ein Hochdurchsatz-Screening für PKAN-revidierende Wirkstoffe“ wird im Rahmen...

mehr lesen

Abonnieren Sie unseren Hoffnungsbaum-Newsletter!

Mit unseren Newsletter-E-Mails erhalten Sie wertvolle Informationen rund um NBIA. Wenn Sie neben dem allgemeinen Newsletter zusätzliche Infos zu einzelnen NBIA-Varianten oder spezielle Infos für Forscher/Kliniker abonnieren wollen, klicken Sie bitte hier: Zusätzliche Infos abonnieren

Datenschutz

Du hast dich erfolgreich angemeldet!