Record number of participants at the 7th International Scientific NBIA Symposium

from | November 8, 2020

Authors of the English original article: Patricia Wood and Angelika Klucken

160 participants from 26 countries attended the 7th International Symposium on NBIA and Related Diseases, which was held as a virtual event for the first time. With online access making it easier to meet in virtual space during the COVID-19 pandemic, this record number of participants was made possible, including the world's most renowned NBIA scientists and clinicians, as well as those professionals who have only recently become involved in NBIA research and care.

The Scientific Steering Committee of the symposium was chaired by Prof. Thomas Klopstock, head of the NBIA research team at the Friedrich Baur Institute of the Neurological University Hospital Munich (LMU). The preparatory committee also included Prof. Susan Hayflick from Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, USA, Prof. Valeria Tiranti from the C. Besta Neurological Institute in Milan, Italy, and Dr. Agnès Rötig from the Imagine Institute in Paris, France. The patient representatives Fatemeh Mollet from NBIA Suisse, Angelika Klucken from Hoffnungsbaum e. V. and Patricia Wood from the NBIA Disorders Association in the USA were also committee members.

The picture shows the virtual lobby of the symposium. Participants were able to click on the meetings or offers they wanted to attend.

 

The program of the conference, which was hosted by the NBIA Disorders Association in the USA, included presentations in which long-standing, experienced NBIA researchers and their colleagues reported on current research findings. In addition, researchers who are new to the NBIA community but have special expertise in the latest treatment methods shared their knowledge and contributed to the exchange of ideas.

The meeting program each day focused on one or two of the more common NBIA diseases in particular - PKAN, CoPAN, BPAN, MPAN, PLAN and FAHN, but the discussions on individual diseases were of overarching interest to all NBIA forms. Overall, five cross-disease topics emerged as focal points for discussion:

  • Deciphering the pathological biochemical mechanisms of diseases and thus gaining new ideas for possible new therapies
  • Exploring the potential of gene, small molecule drug and cell therapies in the treatment of NBIA diseases
  • Generation of suitable animal models and differentiated cell models for preclinical tests
  • Conducting studies on the natural course of disease and developing suitable subtype-specific assessment scales as a prerequisite for clinical studies
  • Implementation of upcoming or ongoing clinical trials and requirements for their implementation.

All agreed that sufficient funding remains a major obstacle when it comes to the various scientific approaches that still need to be explored. Regardless of the therapeutic approach chosen for a treatment, the researchers shared the view that, in parallel with other research, natural history studies cannot start soon enough to have meaningful clinical endpoints at hand to be well prepared for clinical trials, i.e. to achieve trial readiness.
Patient representatives from 10 NBIA Alliance member organizations attended the conference, as well as representatives from the seven organizations dedicated to a specific NBIA disease. Biotech and pharmaceutical companies were also represented.

Participants listened to 37 scientific presentations and six lightning talks and were able to ask the speakers questions after each presentation. In addition, each day opened with a welcome address from a patient representative who acknowledged and encouraged the commitment of the NBIA scientific community from a patient perspective.
Each day ended with a lively discussion, open to all participants, on urgent needs and next steps for the NBIA diseases covered in the presentations. Between 50 and 75 people participated in these discussions. Additional networking opportunities and virtual exhibit booths were also offered during the symposium.

Susan Hayflick, medical geneticist and director of NBIA research in Portland, Oregon (USA), suggested that researchers should meet virtually more often in addition to in-person symposia to improve scientific exchange and accelerate NBIA research. Many agreed and rated the quality of the virtual platform used at the symposium as very good.

Most of the presentations were recorded and are now available at the following link:

https://NBIAscientificsymposium.org

Summaries of the daily presentations in layman's terms are being prepared and will soon be made available by the non-profit NBIA patient organizations. In 2021, the 8th International Symposium on NBIA and Related Disorders will be held as an in-person meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland from October 14-16, 2021.

This translation was produced by www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version) is supported.

Subscribe to our Hoffnungsbaum newsletter!

With our newsletter e-mails you will receive valuable information about NBIA. If you would like to receive additional information on individual NBIA variants or special information for researchers/clinicians in addition to the general newsletter, please click here: Subscribe to additional information

Privacy policy

You have successfully registered!

Rekord-Teilnehmerzahl beim 7. Internationalen Wissenschaftlichen NBIA-Symposium

von | 8. November 2020

Autoren des englischen Originalartikels: Patricia Wood und Angelika Klucken

160 Teilnehmer aus 26 Ländern besuchten das 7. Internationale Symposium zu NBIA und verwandten Erkrankungen, das erstmals als virtuelle Veranstaltung stattfand. Da der online-Zugang es erleichterte, sich während der COVID-19-Pandemie im virtuellen Raum zu treffen, wurde diese Rekordanzahl an Teilnehmern ermöglicht, zu denen die weltweit renommiertesten NBIA-Wissenschaftler und -Kliniker gehörten sowie diejenigen Fachleute, die sich erst seit kurzem mit NBIA-Forschung und -Versorgung befassen.

Den Vorsitz im Wissenschaftlichen Lenkungsausschuss des Symposiums hatte Prof. Thomas Klopstock, Leiter des NBIA-Forschungsteams am Friedrich-Baur-Institut der Neurologischen Universitätsklinik München (LMU). Dem Vorbereitungskomitee gehörten ferner Prof. Susan Hayflick von der Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, USA, Prof. Valeria Tiranti vom Neurologischen Institut C. Besta in Mailand, Italien, und Dr. Agnès Rötig vom Institut Imagine in Paris, Frankreich, an. Die Patientenvertreterinnen Fatemeh Mollet von NBIA Suisse, Angelika Klucken von Hoffnungsbaum e. V. und Patricia Wood von der NBIA Disorders Association in den USA waren ebenfalls Ausschussmitglieder.

Das Bild zeigt die virtuelle Lobby des Symposiums. Teilnehmer konnten die Meetings oder Angebote anklicken, die sie wahrnehmen wollten.

 

Auf dem Programm der Tagung, die von der NBIA Disorders Association in den USA ausgerichtet wurde, standen Vorträge, in denen langjährige, erfahrene NBIA-Forscher und ihre Mitarbeiter*innen, über aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse berichteten. Darüber hinaus teilten Forscher, die neu in der NBIA-Gemeinschaft sind, jedoch über besonderes Fachwissen zu modernsten Therapieverfahren verfügen, ihre Kenntnisse und trugen zum Gedankenaustausch bei.

Das Sitzungsprogramm konzentrierte sich jeden Tag insbesondere auf ein oder zwei der häufigeren NBIA-Erkrankungen – PKAN, CoPAN, BPAN, MPAN, PLAN und FAHN, aber die Diskussionen über einzelne Erkrankungen waren für alle NBIA-Formen von übergreifendem Interesse. Insgesamt kristallisierten sich fünf krankheitsübergreifende Themen als Diskussionsschwerpunkte heraus:

  • Entzifferung der pathologischen biochemischen Mechanismen der Krankheiten und damit Gewinnung neuer Ideen für mögliche neue Therapien
  • Erkundung des Potenzials von Gen-, niedermolekularen Arzneimittel- und Zell-Therapien bei der Behandlung von NBIA-Erkrankungen
  • Generierung geeigneter Tiermodelle und differenzierter Zellmodelle für vorklinische Tests
  • Durchführung von Studien zu den natürlichen Krankheitsverläufen und Entwicklung geeigneter subtypspezifischer Bewertungsskalen als Voraussetzung für klinische Studien
  • Durchführung klinischer Studien, die bevorstehen oder bereits laufen, und Anforderungen an deren Umsetzung.

Alle waren sich einig, dass eine ausreichende Finanzierung ein großes Hindernis bleibt, wenn es um die verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Ansätze geht, die noch erforscht werden müssen. Ungeachtet des für eine Behandlung gewählten therapeutischen Ansatzes teilten die Forscher die Ansicht, dass parallel zu anderen Forschungsarbeiten die Studien zu den natürlichen Krankheitsverläufen (Engl: Natural History) nicht früh genug beginnen können, um aussagekräftige klinische Endpunkte zur Hand zu haben, mit denen man gut vorbereitet ist für klinische Studien, also so genannte Trial Readiness erzielt.
Patientenvertreter von 10 NBIA-Alliance-Mitgliedsorganisationen nahmen an der Konferenz teil, außerdem Vertreter der sieben Organisationen, die sich einer bestimmten NBIA-Erkrankung widmen. Biotech- und Pharmaunternehmen waren ebenfalls vertreten.

Die Teilnehmer hörten 37 wissenschaftliche Vorträge und sechs Blitzvorträge und konnten nach jeder Präsentation den Sprechern Fragen stellen. Darüber hinaus wurde jeder Tag mit dem Willkommensgruß eines Patientenvertreters eröffnet, der aus Patientenperspektive das Engagement der wissenschaftlichen NBIA-Gemeinschaft würdigte und ermutigte.
Jeder Tag endete mit einer lebhaften, für alle Teilnehmer offenen Diskussion über dringende Erfordernisse und nächste Schritte zu den in den Präsentationen behandelten NBIA-Krankheitsformen. An diesen Gesprächsrunden nahmen zwischen 50 und 75 Personen teil. Während des Symposiums wurden auch weitere Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten und virtuelle Ausstellungsstände angeboten.

Susan Hayflick, medizinische Genetikerin und Leiterin der NBIA-Forschung in Portland, Oregon (USA), schlug vor, dass sich die Forscher zusätzlich zu den persönlichen Symposien häufiger virtuell treffen sollten, um den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zu verbessern und die NBIA-Forschung zu beschleunigen. Viele stimmten dem zu und bewerteten die Qualität der auf dem Symposium verwendeten virtuellen Plattform als sehr gut.

Die meisten der Vorträge wurden aufgezeichnet und sind jetzt unter folgendem Link verfügbar:

https://NBIAscientificsymposium.org

Für Laien verständliche Zusammenfassungen der täglichen Vorträge sind in Arbeit und können demnächst von den gemeinnützigen NBIA-Patientenorganisationen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Im Jahr 2021 wird das 8. Internationale Symposium zu NBIA und verwandten Erkrankungen vom 14. bis 16. Oktober 2021 als persönliches Treffen in Lausanne, Schweiz, stattfinden.

DieseÜbersetzung wurde durch www.DeepL.com/Translator (kostenlose Version) unterstützt.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Hoffnungsbaum-Newsletter!

Mit unseren Newsletter-E-Mails erhalten Sie wertvolle Informationen rund um NBIA und werden benachrichtigt, wenn auf unserer Website neue Beiträge veröffentlicht wurden. Sie können diesen Service jederzeit wieder abbestellen.

Du hast dich erfolgreich angemeldet!